Postdoctoral Fellowships

The Centre for Radio Cosmology (CRC) at UWC is internationally recognised for its research in cosmology using MeerKAT, the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) and other radio and optical/IR telescopes. CRC faculty are involved in MeerKAT and SKA key science, as well as in HERA, HIRAX and the Rubin Observatory (LSST).

In 2021, the UWC Astro Group consists of 25 PhD/ MSc students, 13 postdoctoral fellows and 8 faculty: Ed Elson, Lerothodi Leeuw, Michelle Lochner, Roy Maartens, Siya Matshawule, Mario Santos, Russ Taylor, Mattia Vaccari. (See for further details.) Visiting faculty include Romeel Davé (University of Edinburgh), Matt Jarvis (Oxford University), David Bacon (University of Portsmouth), Stefano Camera (University of Turin), Phil Bull, Chris Clarkson and Alkistis Pourtsidou (Queen Mary University of London). The CRC is closely linked to IDIA (Inter-University Institute for Data Intensive Astronomy) at UWC: see

The CRC is offering Postdoctoral Fellowships to start in January 2022 (possibly earlier or later by agreement), in areas of observational and theoretical cosmology that are related to the SKA, including its synergies with other cosmological experiments.

The remuneration is approximately R420 000 per annum, tax free. Additional funding is available for equipment and travel. The positions are for 2 years, with a possible third year, subject to satisfactory progress.

Applicants should email a single PDF document containing:

  • a CV (including publication list)
  • a description of previous and future research (2-3 pages)Applicants should also arrange for 2-3 reference letters to be sent directly to us by referees.Email

Deadline: Consideration of applications will begin in July 2021 andcontinue until the positions are filled.A PhD in Astrophysics or a relevant field is required before appointment. Applicants should be within 5 years from the date of PhD at the start of the position and may not have held a full- time permanent academic or professional post. The appointment is subject to the rules and approval of the University of the Western Cape and the National Research Foundation of South Africa.

image: SARAO